UGA’s Postdoctoral Association

The purpose of the PDA is to serve the postdoctoral community at UGA, thereby promoting the university’s research and teaching missions.

Our objectives are:

  • To enhance the visibility of postdocs at UGA and at the local, national, and international levels
  • To foster the UGA Postdoctoral community through social interactions
  • To serve as a liaison between postdocs and the university administration
  • To advocate for the interests of UGA Postdocs

The University of Georgia PDA is governed by the PDA bylaws, (ratified April 2010, updated and ratified February 2019).  The PDA provides a unique opportunity for leadership and service for postdocs at UGA. If you are interested in getting involved or have any questions, please contact us at

Executive Board 2021-2022

  • President: Patrick Bewg
  • Vice President: Tiago Pereira
  • Secretary: Luisa Gomez
  • Treasurer: Beau Reneer
  • Outreach Coordinator: Lauren Pepi
  • Diversity & Inclusion Representative: Sampath Gamage
  • Tifton Representative: Aparna Petkar
  • Skidaway/Savannah Campus Representative: Althea Moore

Executive Board 2020-2021

  • President: Kyle L. Bower
  • Vice President: Nahal Hoghooghi
  • Treasurer: Lara Pereira Garcia
  • Secretary: Carolina Ballen Taborda
  • Outreach Coordinator: Patrick Bewg
  • Diversity & Inclusion Representative: Tiago Jose Pereira

Executive Board 2019-2020

  • President: Joseph Disi
  • Vice President: Kyle Bower
  • Secretary – Athens Campus: Yin Wang
  • Treasurer: Lara Pereira
  • Human Resources/Library Council Rep: Emily Dittmar
  • Public Relations: Nahal Hoghooghi
  • Public Relations – Tifton Campus: Aparna Petkar
  • University Council Representative: Maurice Shirley

Executive Board 2018-2019

  • President: Natalia Bayona
  • Vice President: Joseph Disi
  • Treasurer: Jasmina Luczo
  • Secretary: Dulce Minaya
  • Secretary (Tifton Campus Rep): Nino Brown
  • Public Relations: Hind Yahyaoui Azami
  • Library Council Rep: Suxing Liu
  • University Council Rep: Suxing Liu

Executive Board 2017-2018

  • President: Anil Kumar
  • Vice President: Varughese Mulamoottil
  • Treasurer: Haris Panagos
  • Secretary: Ana Bento and Sara Porfirio (co-secretaries)
  • Public Relations: Christine Reitmayer
  • Library Council Rep: Claire Edwards
  • University Council Rep: Claire Edwards

Executive Board 2016-2017

  • Carla Hadden – President 2017
  • Nandakumar Venkatesan – President 2016
  • Anil Kumar – Vice President
  • Asif Shajahan – Secretary
  • Andrew Lancaster – University Council Subcommittee on UGA Libraries Representative

Executive Board 2015-2016

  • Evelina Basenko – President, Webmaster
  • Nandakumar Venkatesan – Vice President
  • Asif Shajahan – Secretary
  • Andrew Lancaster – University Council Subcommittee on UGA Libraries Representative
  • Juliet Sekandi – Treasurer